Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Costumes, Costumes, Costumes!

I, like any other cosplayer, have a problem. Whenever I see a well designed costume, I have a disgustingly strong urge to make it. So, with the rise of popstars like Lady Gaga, Rihanna, and Beyone having a more visual, costume-y style, of course, that urge would arise after viewing videos like Poker Face, Video Phone, and Diva.

To me, these woman are artists to be celebrated. They're doing something different, something visual, something that's beautiful.

Today, I hung out with Jess and Beatriz (New friend? Hopefully! She was awesome!). They were talking about 'rave outfits' that were going to be worn to the Soap Bubble (a late night dance at Anime Central). Jess would be wearing a simpler version of her Midna costume. Beatriz was going to be wearing Shakira's outfit from the "She-Wolf" video.

(---> This was seriously the best photo I could find of the outfit. Shakira is constantly in strange, contorted poses that don't translate well into still photos. P:)

They mentioned that I needed to find a rave outfit. I seriously wondered what the hell I would wear, as I find myself the least attractive of the three of us.

I got to thinking of what would be nice enough to dance in and what I'd feel attractive and awesome in. I believe at some point, a Lady Gaga song came on and a light bulb went off.

The music video for the song "Video Phone" by Beyonce and Lady Gaga had INSPIRED me the first time that I saw it. The outfits and the song itself just clicked with me.

I think that Beyonce's 'Military' outfit from the video would be a good option. It covers the areas that I'm not secure about, as well as covers my face (I realize that I'm NOT black, and therefore shouldn't be going around like "OMGIMTOTALLYBEYONCESTWIN"). My only concern is that I'd be fucking HOT in the thing. Like...sweaty hot, not sexy hot. I'd be looking a hot mess after 15 minutes in the dance.

There are several other outfits in the video that are plausible, some more costumey, some more casual. The black and white outfit at the beginning is OUT. That's the one thing that I find HIDEOUS in my entire recollection of Beyonce images.

The "Rising Sun" outfit that features a bow and arrow is a bit more revealing. Still sexy, still covering the tummy area (which is my area of trouble and dread). But then there's nothing really covering my face. She does have some pretty heavy make up on, which gives me some room to play with the amount of makeup on my face that would change the structure of it a bit.

The boots and gloves would be easy (though the details on the gloves would either need to be on the fabric itself or a LOT of extra work). Hat would be pretty easy to find, I have a hat I could even make a pattern out of a hat that I have. But the leotard would be a bitch. It would be a LOT of pieces serged together, and I'm not too sure if it would look the best that it could be. : /

There's also Lady Gaga though. She has such a great performer. She designs a lot of her own pieces and really uses her own style.

I personally would want to do ---> this outfit from Lady Gaga's "Poker Face" Video.
Its fabulous. You can't deny it. I have an idea of how I would do the mask. The shoulder and hip...pauldrons? I'm not even sure what to call them could be a bit of left over Wonderflex that I'll have from various masks. Regular wetlook spandex for the body suit.


Seriously. I have no idea what I'm going to do. Thoughts!?








<3 Jess

1 comment: